Why do butterflies have powder on their wings?

The dust on butterfly and moth wings are modified hairs called scales. The scales are used to signal to the other sex in attraction for mating. They help the butterflies blend into their background, to protect them from predators. They allows butterfly bodies to warm up in cool seasons.