Who invented rock and roll?

Cleveland disc-jockey Alan Freed was the first to use 'rock and roll,' a phrase describing the motion of a ship, to refer to the musical style that emerged in the 1950s, derived from elements of R&B, country, and swing music. No one agrees on the first song or artist in this genre.