Is marinara sauce and pizza sauce the same thing?

Yes. There is a difference in consistency, ingredients, and the way of cooking. Marinara sauce is typically a simple red sauce composed of tomatoes, herbs, and olive oil. Pizza sauce can be any sort of tomato-based sauce. Both are cooked to reduce water, but marinara has a thinner consistency.