Is salt sodium?

A salt is an ionic compound, table salt is sodium chloride. Sodium is half of table salt but slightly less than half of the weight, 10 grams of salt contains approximately 3.9 g of sodium and 6.1 g of chlorine. Besides table salt, sodium forms many other salts such as sodium bicarbonate and others.