What are machiavellian ethics?

Machiavelli's Ethics challenges the most entrenched understandings of Machiavelli, arguing that he was a moral and political philosopher who always favored the rule of law over that of men,that he had a coherent theory of justice, and that he did not defend the maxim that the ends justify the means.