How many people have died playing baseball?

One person has died playing Major League Baseball. On August 16, 1920, Ray Chapman of the Cleveland Indians was hit in the head by a pitch from Carl Mays of the New York Yankees. He was alive after being hit, but collapsed on the field. Emergency surgery was performed but he died the next day.