Is the movie hillbilly elegy based on a true story?

Yes, Hillbilly Elegy is based on a true story. The film was based on Vance’s memoir, "Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis", a best-seller that was published in 2016.