Do ticks live through the winter?

Ticks do not die off during the winter months. To survive the cold and snow, most ticks find shelter in leaf litter and are dormant until spring. However, adult deer ticks (black-legged ticks) remain active year round. ... Nymphs are dormant during the winter months and become active in the spring.