Who sang the original hokey pokey?

The Hokey Pokey became popular in the US in the 1950s. Its originator is debatable: Larry LaPrise, Charles Macak, and Tafit Baker of the musical group the Ram Trio, better known as the Sun Valley Trio, recorded the song in 1948 and it was released in 1950.