How are stars created?

A star begins its life as a cloud of dust and gas (mainly hydrogen) known as a nebula. A protostar is formed when gravity causes the dust and gas of a nebula to clump together in a process called accretion. If a critical temperature in the core of a protostar is reached, then nuclear fusion begins.