What's the name of the horse in jingle bells?

The horse does not have a name. Often misheard as “Bells on Bob’s tail” or “Bells on Bobtail,” as if Bob or Bobtail is the horse. Bobtail refers to the style of the horse’s tail, cut short or gathered up and tied in a knot, as see in dressage events.