Who invented national breadstick day?

National Breadstick Day, annually the last Friday in October was to honor young duke, Vittorio Amedeo II di Savoia. He suffered from intestinal disorders and his doctor ordered bread, “well leavened, well baked with little crumb and very crisp.” Thus, breadsticks were born, or so the legend goes.