How do you destroy a wither?

A list of equipment you will need is available online, however the strategy is fairly simple. In the Nether, mine far up to the roof, which has a layer of bedrock. Lay down an obsidian base & force the Nether to spawn so that its head is stuck in the bedrock of the Nether roof. Attack repeatedly.