How do you know when salad is bad?

If it's a leafy green salad, you'll be able to tell just by looking at it. The biggest indicator will be the lettuce. It will be limp, wilted and brown. Other vegetables like carrots, tomatoes and peppers will lose their vibrant colors and also wrinkle and wilt.