Can animals have autism?

Studies indicate that autism could very well occur in dogs. But, it’s important to acknowledge that until more research is done, reaching a definitive diagnosis in an individual dog is anything but straightforward.

---

Autism is a neurodevelopment condition found in humans, some of the criteria, such as a delay in language development, can’t apply in a straightforward way to animals. That said, some animals do display autistic-like traits, such as a tendency toward repetitive behaviour or atypical social habits.