Is puerto rico part of the united states?

Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean Sea, has been a territory of the United States since 1898, after the U.S. defeated Spain in the Spanish-American war. It's classified as an “unincorporated territory,” meaning the island is controlled by the U.S. government but is separate from the mainland.