Do cats know their owners?

Cats are good at visual recognition — except when it comes to human faces. Instead of facial recognition, cats use other cues, like our scent, the way we feel, or the sound of our voices to identify us. Researchers from Tokyo University found that cats do indeed recognize their owners' voices.