What's the tallest person ever to live?

Robert Pershing Wadlow, also known as the Alton Giant and the Giant of Illinois, was a man who was the tallest person in recorded history for whom there is irrefutable evidence. He was born on February 22nd, 1918 and died on July 15th, 1940 at the age of 22. He was 8 ft 11.1 inches tall.