Why are jalapeno spicy?

Jalepenos are spicy because they contain capecium. Jalepenos have, on average, 11 mg of capecium in each cup of sliced pepper.

---

Jalapeño Peppers are plants and those that are spicy use their spiciness as a defense mechanism against predation. ... The main chemical component that makes peppers spicy is capsaicin; which binds to special heat-sensing receptors on our tongue.