What's the difference between a yellow onion and a vidalia onion?

A Vidalia onion is grown in Georgia and is very sweet and mild. Their sweet flavor comes from a lack of sulfur in the soil where they are grown. Yellow onions are grown elsewhere and are quite biting and sharp at times. They're also smaller and rounder than Vidalias.