How many songs are there in the history?

So we don't know every song ever written. But a company called Gracenote keeps a list of all the songs out there: it had 79 million as of 2011. To get a sense of that number, 79 million minutes is about 150 years. so if most of the songs are from 1866 onward, that's 1 new song every minute.