What does the phrase let them eat cake mean?

"Let them eat Cake", refers to a comment Queen Marie Antoinette of France reportedly said in 1789. Allegedly, she said that if the French peasants starving in the streets did not have enough bread to eat, they could eat cake. Later investigation found that she probably did not say the phrase.