How to promote rem sleep?

To promote REM sleep: Develop a sleep schedule, don’t drink caffeine or smoke cigarettes late in the day, avoid alcohol at night, establish a relaxing sleep routine before bed, exercise regularly, create an ideal sleep environment, don't lie awake in bed, and replace older pillows.