Who won the french revolution?

A result of the French Revolution was the end of the French monarchy. The revolution began with a meeting of the Estates General in Versailles, and ended when Napoleon Bonaparte took power in November 1799. Before 1789, France was ruled by the nobles and the Catholic Church.