What does it mean to invert a cake?

When you bake a cake or anything that rises, it tends to form a dome. If you turn it upside down while it is warm, the weight of the cake itself will fix that dome at least somewhat. If you put it on a flat plate, water may condense there and the surface may stick to the plate, hence the wire rack.