What's in the nightshade family?

Nightshades are a family of flowering plants that ranges from annual and perennial herbs to vines, shrubs, and trees, and includes a number of agricultural crops, medicinal plants, spices, weeds, and ornamentals. many —including tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant, bell and chili peppers—are used as food.