Where did the word cocktail originate from?

no one knows for sure, A popular story comes from New Orleans, Peychaud served a mixed brandy drink in a French eggcup. Eventually the drink was named coquetier, the French term for an eggcup. Peychaud's guests shortened the name to 'cocktay,' and eventually it became 'cocktail.'