What is the largest alligator ever recorded?

The alligator which is claimed to be the largest to have been ever recorded was found on Marsh Island, Louisiana, in 1890. It was killed near Vermilion Bay in southern Louisiana. It measured 19.2 ft. (5.85 m) in length, and weighed somewhere around 2000 lbs