What is the dangling chad?

A ‘chad’ is a bit of paper that is punched from a paper ballot by a punch-type voting machine. If the chad is not detached completely from the ballot, it is a ‘hanging chad’. These hanging chads on ballots in Florida led to controversy in the 2000 presidential election.