Is saint louis missouri on the mississippi river?

Of all the rivers in the St. Louis area, the Mississippi River is the largest. It is also the one that passes through the city of St Louis for the greatest distance. The Mississippi forms the eastern border of the city, separating it from the city of East St. Louis in neighboring Illinois