When did the first helicopter fly?

On September 14, 1939, the V S-300, the world's first practical helicopter, took flight at Stratford, Connecticut. Designed by Igor Sikorsky and built by the United Aircraft Corporation, the helicopter was the first to incorporate a single main rotor and tail rotor design.