Why is there seasons?

Two things cause seasons: mainly the elliptical nature of the Earth's orbit around the Sun, but also the tilt of the Earth's rotational axis. The elliptical orbit causes the Sun to be slightly farther away from Earth in the winter, and slightly closer in the summer.