Why is there seasons?

Two things cause seasons: mainly the elliptical nature of the Earth's orbit around the Sun, but also the tilt of the Earth's rotational axis. The elliptical orbit causes the Sun to be slightly farther away from Earth in the winter, and slightly closer in the summer.

---

Seasons are caused by the Earth's changing relationship to the Sun. The Earth travels around the Sun, called an orbit, once a year or every 365 days. As the Earth orbits the Sun, the amount of sunlight each location on the planet gets every day changes slightly. This change causes the seasons