What makes salt kosher salt?

Any salt can be kosher if it’s produced under kosher Jewish dietary guidelines, but that's not the reason Kosher salt got its name. In fact, something labeled “kosher salt” can actually not be kosher. Kosher salt’s original purpose was really to kosher meat, meaning to remove the blood from meat.