What caused the hindenburg to explode?

No one knows for sure, but the best theory is that the Hindenburg developed a leak in one of its huge flammable hydrogen storage bags, and a stray spark of electric static caused by water from the wet weather on its outer skin, ignited the hydrogen and caused it to burn fiercely.