How much water does a dishwasher use?

An automatic dishwasher uses about 4 gallons of water per load. Energy Star dishwashers are very efficient. Hand washing the dishes could use much more water, up to 25 gallons. Rinsing and letting the water drain out for each item is the biggest use of water when washing by hand.