Why do yellow jackets sting?

This species of wasp is extremely territorial and very sensitive to noise. Mowing the lawn over a nest of them can result in many painful stings to keep you away from the nest opening. They don't lose their stingers after stinging you, either, and therefore can sting multiple times.