Does red and orange make yellow?

No, mixing red and orange does not make yellow. Mixing red and yellow makes orange. In positive coloring (as in light, such as on your computer monitor) mixing red and green makes yellow. In negative coloring (such as ink or paint), yellow is a primary color.