What's our closest planet?

Mercury is the closest planet to Earth. You might say Venus, but Mercury’s orbit doesn’t take it very far from the sun. Venus gets much farther away from Earth during its orbit. While it gets closer on occasion, it can be as far away as 1.72 AU. The average distance makes Mercury closest.