Is the carolina reaper the hottest pepper?

In 2013, Guinness World Records declared the Carolina Reaper the hottest chili pepper in the world, surpassing the previous record holder, the Trinidad Scorpion.

---

The Carolina Reaper holds the official Guinness World Record for hottest pepper at 1.6 million Scoville Heat Units, although other peppers such as Pepper X and Dragon's Breath claim to be hotter.