How does a calcium channel blocker work?

Calcium is needed for muscle contraction. Calcium Channel Blockers (CCBs) work by preventing calcium from entering specific muscle cells of the heart and blood vessels. This in turn helps relax those muscle cells and widen vessels, which improves blood flow and heartbeat efficiency.