What is a shot clock violation?

In basketball, a shot clock violation occurs when a team doesn't shoot the ball before the shot clock expires. To count as a shot, a player must release the ball before the clock expires, and the ball must hit the rim or go in the net. A violation leads to the team losing possession of the ball.