What is squid ink?

Squid ink, or cephalopod ink, is a dark liquid released by squid as a defense mechanism. It is mostly made up of melanin, the same pigment that colors our skin and hair. It is dark because of the oxidation of Tyrosin, an amino acid. Squid ink is edible, adding a rich briny flavor and dramatic color.