Who created the game checkers?

Today's game of checkers developed around the start of the 12th century. A Frenchman came up with the idea of playing checkers on a chess board. At that time, the game was called “Fierges” or “Ferses.” With a new board design and new rules set, the game made its way to England and the Americas.