What is a substitute for pepper?

Over the world, there are several plant seeds referred to as pepper but each has a unique flavor. What we call white or black pepper in Western cultures is the dried seed of a vine and there is no substitute though Japanese Sansho comes fairly close. Szechwan Peppercorns taste completely different