Why do scottish men wear kilts?

The kilt allowed those who wore it to move much more freely, especially in the Highlands of Scotland where the weather can become very damp. It kept them dry and can be unfolded to make a blanket. It's also useful as armor in a war. The various plaids are the colors of the wearer's clan.