How did teddy roosevelt become president?

After Vice President Garret Hobart died in 1899, the NY state party convinced McKinley to accept Roosevelt as his running mate in the 1900 election. Roosevelt took office as vice president in March 1901 and assumed the presidency at age 42 after McKinley was assassinated the following september.