Are cats related to dogs?

Cats and dogs are both in the Carnivora order, but their last common ancestor lived about 42 million years ago. Since then they have diverged into feliforms (cats, hyenas and mongooses) and caniforms – a more diverse group that includes raccoons and walruses, as well as dogs.