When was tom petty popular?

Tom Petty, Thomas Earl Petty, (born October 20, 1950, Gainesville, Florida, U.S.—died October 2, 2017, Santa Monica, California), American singer and songwriter whose roots-oriented guitar rock arose from the new-wave movement of the late 1970s and resulted in a string of hit singles and albums.