Was ernest hemingway rich?

His income came mostly from Blue Chip stocks. Ernest Hemingway was living off of the income from the portfolio for five years before he died. And about 55% of his yearly income came from his portfolio. His estate left a total amount of 1.4 million with $418,933 in stocks and bonds.