Do hawks eat pigeons?

NYC Audobon Society describes hawks eating pigeons as “an everyday occurrence, probably happens multiple times a day” — predominately red-tailed hawks in the city. Pigeons are a “major prey item,” and that hawks take advantage of the city's overabundance of pigeons and rats.